CASL Awards 2010


The following are recipients of this year's CASL awards:

Administrator's Award

Brian Murphy


Great Oak Middle School

Oxford, CT

Outstanding support of school library programs

Diane Strumello

District Library Media Coordinator

Milford Public Schools

Milford, CT


Dr. Alan Bookman


Glastonbury Public Schools

Glastonbury, CT


Alfred Souza


Hubbard School

Berlin, CT


Dr. Craig Tunks

Director of Technology

Monroe Public Schools

Monroe, CT

Bernice “Bunny” Yesner School Library Media Program of the Year

Michelle Luhtala and Christina Russo

New Canaan High School

New Canaan, CT

Carlton Erikson Award
Auspicious beginning in media services

Faith Miller

Amity Middle School

Bethany, CT

Carolyn Biega O’Neill Memorial Scholarship

Kim Kadeem

Educational Technology Program

Graduate School Of Education & Allied Professions

Fairfield University

Collaboration Grant

"Internet Safety Webquest"

LMS: Terry McCabe

Teacher: Scott Gura

Shelton Intermediate School

Shelton, CT

Follett Creativity Award

"Dewey Decimal Classification Board Game"

Amanda Gouveia

Moses Y. Beach Elementary School

Wallingford, CT

Creative Program Award

"Utopian Literature Research & Mini-Documentary"

Kathleen Hubler and Kimberly Kulenych

Bunnell High School

Stratford, CT


"Africa Quest, African Culture, and African Folktales"

Susan Selk, Susan McKenna, and Koren Depersis

Riverfield Elementary School

Fairfield, CT


"An Artist Study Presented in PowerPoint"

Maryann Beauchene, Susan Rood, and Kimberly DeDominicis

Botelle School

Norfolk, CT


"Analyze This"

Janet Kenney and Barbara Kaminski

Bristol Eastern High School

Bristol, CT


"Search Wiki Project"

Sara Kelley-Mudie and Maeve Ewing

The Forman School

Litchfield, CT

Hilda and John Jay Award
Significant contribution to the library media field on the local, state and national level

No Award Given This Year

Pellerin Classroom Teacher Award

Kimberly DeDominicis

Botelle Elementary School

Norfolk, CT

Establishing an instructional partnership with a Library Media Specialist

Margaret Alice Warren

Fairfield Woods Middle School

Fairfield, CT


Ted Donohue

Farmington High School

Farmington, CT


Diane Pintavalle

Glastonbury High School

Glastonbury, CT


Debbie Lynch

Great Oak Middle School

Oxford, CT

Rheta A. Clark Award

Outstanding service as a Library Media Specialist

Kathleen Cietanno

East Lyme Middle School

Niantic, CT

Service Award
Outstanding service to The Connecticut Association of School Librarians

Jenn Cirino

CASL Webmaster

Darien High School

Darien, CT